Sunday Night Television Review: January 18th, 2009

Hello! Welcome to my awfully unpredictable and late television reviews! Most of the TV shows that I have been reviewing were absent this past week. All except for The Mentalist, who was hidden post-football on Sunday night. Being the intelligent individual I am, I made sure to record for several hours after my show was scheduled to end. I learned my lesson from how CBS and football treated the miserable show Shark. However, I can’t complain about that too much, because the constant delays and failed recordings gave me a reason to stop watching that god awful piece of garbage… Ok… I’m losing track of myself here. It’s time to review the latest installment of The Mentalist!

=================================================================================
The Mentalist: Season 1 Episode 14: “Paint It Red”

This week’s episode of The Mentalist involved something about a dead guy and a stolen painting. There was no better way for The Mentalist to revel in its number one new show status than to open with a hot steamy sex scene between two random people. If that doesn’t keep the ratings, I don’t know what will. America rules!

The Mentalist seems really hellbent on making me like the rest of its cast. After the laid back nature of last week’s episode, this week changes up the usual pairings for their investigations. Instead of the typical Jane and Lisbon team up, we were treated to a short team up with Jane and Van Pelt doing a small undercover sting on one of the suspects.

I still can’t say that I’m really getting into these extra characters, but I can appreciate them trying. Of all the characters, Van Pelt is my least favorite. I only appreciate her in the sense that she’s a naive believer in supernatural as a counter to Jane’s very ridgid, jaded and disbelieving attitude. However, her total disgust of Jane’s every move seems out of place considering he’s solved every one of their cases so far.

The case goes down a fairly predictable path, but Patrick Jane continues to be entertaining as ever. Apparently he can not only read people, he can expertly analyze paintings too! The Mentalist continues to deliver stereotypical cop drama material, however I’m starting to enjoy the show more and more. Now that the characters are starting to be fleshed out a little more, it’d be nice to see the show start coming together a little more. However, with the ratings being the way they are currently, I don’t forsee this show changing anytime soon.

Rating: 7.0 (out of 10)

================================================================================

Ok… That’s more than I usually write about The Mentalist, but it’s the least I’ve written overall. Thanks for reading! Feel free to comment with your opinions. Until next time…

– Kyle

~ by axknel on January 24, 2009.

2 Responses to “Sunday Night Television Review: January 18th, 2009”

  1. “There was no better way for The Mentalist to revel in its number one new show status than to open with a hot steamy sex scene between two random people.”

    Wouldn’t any show be improved by this? Antiques Roadshow? The Adventures of Pete and Pete? Fox & Friends?

    And you’re right, Patrick Jane is totally the shit. Boogie Nights, like America itself, rules.

  2. “The pursuit of pleasure Is the most pleasant pleasure.”

Leave a Reply

 
