Television: 2009 NBC Fall Lineup

Ahhhh, FINALLY! A reason to stay indoors again. It is now September and with that comes a new wave of programming designed to keep you on your ass. Because I am so excited for this great time, I have decided to list out some of the shows that have my interest and how I feel about their future. I’ll start with some of NBC’s shows.

=================================================================================

The Office – A pretty solid show on a network that keeps losing solid shows. I don’t find The Office anywhere near as humorous as I used to; whether that’s because it’s not as funny or I’m just used to their particular brand of humor now, I don’t know. However, it’s still rounded out by a fantastic cast with great characters; I just hope they stay away from those pesky hour long episodes…

Community – A new comedy on Thursday night to either fill the void left by My Name is Earl or Kath & Kim. While I’m generally skeptical of most new comedies, I’ve been reading some good first impressions on the pilot. It’s about attending community college, which certainly has loads of comedic potential. It’d be nice to find another good chuckle in the midst of the 95% of humorless crime shows I spend my time watching. I’ll give the pilot a spin and see how it feels.

30 Rock – I’ve been turning to 30 Rock for 2 years now to replace the laughs that I no longer get from The Office (Yes, I’m aware it’s been on for 3 seasons). By far, one of the funniest sitcoms I’ve seen on TV in a long time. I cross my fingers and hope that this show doesn’t lose it’s creative spark just yet.

Law & Order – I’ve got a confession to make. I still haven’t actually finished watching the previous season of Law & Order. I fell behind with most of my TV at the end of last season, and that’s one of the shows I haven’t caught up with. However, it’d be safe for me to expect more of the same from this new season of Law & Order. I mean, 20 years doesn’t exactly lie. NBC pushed this back to Friday nights. Expect low ratings and a possible cancellation of epic proportions in this 20 year old show’s future.

Rape is bad.

Rape is bad.

Law & Order: Special Victims Unit – This will be my first season going in (this will be season 11) where I have actually watched every SVU episode. All of the original cast members are still in the show, which makes for an impressive track record. Stephanie March will be back for a few episodes until the show finds a new ADA. Last season was much better than the atrocity that was season 9, so I’m hoping season 11 follows this trend a little further. They didn’t kill Munch in the season finale, so hopefully that means they plan to give him screen time! You know, I’d hate to agree with the masses, but this has been proving itself to be the most consistently enjoyable Law & Order on television.

Heroes – Yeah right.

~ by axknel on September 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
