Tasteless Tuesday: December 15, 2009

The year is finally starting to wind down and I couldn’t be happier. Music fans can finally stop spending money on themselves and start purchasing gifts for their loved ones. Here are a few random picks from Metacritic’s upcoming release calendar.

Animal CollectiveFall Be Kind [EP]: If I were these guys, I’d stop releasing music while everyone still thinks they’re the greatest thing since we made a toilet that could spray water up your ass.

Alicia KeysThe Element of Freedom: I never hated her single off of “Songs in A Minor”. I have no idea what she’s been up to since; but she seems to have been steadily releasing CDs. Ben claimed this CD came out 2 weeks ago; he is wrong, and you should probably get used to it.

Shiny Toy GunsGirls Le Disko: A bunch of DJs remixing “classic(?)” Shiny Toy Guns songs. I think their music is fairly susceptible to such a treatment, so if that sort of thing is your deal this album could actually be worth a look. For me, it is not one of my things and I’m also still undecided on how I feel about the band as a whole.

There you have it, only 2 weeks left of the year. Apologies if this post isn’t as elegant and thoughtful as it usually is, but you get what you pay for. Stay tuned in the coming weeks, because this blog should be seeing some sweet and totally awesome year end lists. Hooray!

Until the next time I write a blog…

~ by axknel on December 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
